The Batman Has a Rumored Director Shortlist

Guess Zack Snyder wasn’t available.

After Ben Affleck dropped as director from The Batman, Warner Bros. has been looking for a director.

Forbes has reported that several names have been floating around to take over the movie. Those names include George Miller (Mad Max), Matt Reeves ( Cloverfield, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes), Gavin O’Connor (Warrior, The Accountant), Denis Villeneuve (Prisoners, Arrival), and Matt Ross ( Captain Fantastic). Forbes also says that the studio expects to make an announcement soon, but is not rushing the decision.
If this is real, I like all these directors. This is a good direction it the film. I was actually bummed when I heard Ben Affleck dropped off, but this gets my hopes up again.

Image courtesy Warner Bros.

I think my two favorites are George Miller and Gavin O’Connor. George Miller knows how to handle action while maintaining a good storyline. Gavin O’Connor has worked with Ben Affleck before and has proven himself with Warrior as well. Matt Reeves is a close second, I’d be fine with him too.

I’d actually rather Denis Villeneuve stick with his style of slow psychological movies instead of trying Batman, I just don’t think his style would fit. Matt Ross is good, but I do t think his style fits either. However, the same was probably said when Christopher Nolan signed on as director of Batman Begins. So, directors can change their style to fit with a movie.

Image via Warner Bros.

Overall, I think that this might prove DC might have a plan with the movie. The fact that they have a shortlist (assuming the rumor is true)  filled with great names is really encouraging. I am more optimistic about the film now.

What do you think of these directors? Which one is your favorite? Leave your thoughts in the comments below. Remember, you don’t need an account to comment.

Leave a Reply

