‘The Lego Movie’ Sequel Adds ‘Trolls’ Director Mike Mitchell

Everything is not awesome…

THR has reported that Warner Bros. Animation has added Trolls director, Mike Mitchell, to helm the sequel to the hit animated movie The Lego Movie.

Rob Schrab was director at first, but he dropped due to “creative differences.” Lego Movie directors Phil Lord and Chris Miller are directing the Han Solo movie which just began shooting. They wrote the first draft of the script, but it was rewritten by Raphael Bob-Waksberg. Miller and Lord will return as producers.

Mike Mitchell’s filmography from 2005 is as follows: Sky High, Shrek Forever After, Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked, The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out Of Water, and Trolls. 

Why.

Image via DreamWorks Animation

I don’t understand why you would even consider hiring this guy. He doesn’t make good movies. I admittedly haven’t seen his last two movies, but I don’t plan to. And, the ones I haven’t seen just were bad. Shrek 4 was awful, Alvin and the Chipmunks is a dumb franchise, and Sky High was OK, I guess.

I can somewhat understand from a studio perspective why they would hire him, because his movies are profitable. But, this doesn’t excite me at all, it just makes me scared for the movie. I loved the original Lego Movie, and I have been hyped for a sequel since 2014. I just want a good follow up to the biggest surprise of that year.


In short, I don’t like this at all. I’m not rioting about it, like I’m not dreading this movie. But, all this does is hinder my excitement for the film.

What do you think of the news? Leave your thoughts in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

