Why The DCEU Might Be In Trouble

With the recent news that Ben Affleck will not be directing the solo Batman movie, I thought that it was time to discuss my personal thought on the direction of the DCEU. As far as my thoughts on the movies so far, I really liked Man of Steel. I think it’s the best Superman movie so far. I enjoyed Batman v Superman, but it has problems. And I’m not a fan of Suicide Squad.

I love comic books. DC has the best comic books out right now, they literally started the fad that we now know today. Batman and Superman are the definitive superheroes. I’m not a DC fan boy specifically because I also love Marvel. (But I might like DC characters a little bit more) All I want are great comic book movies from all studios whether it’s DC, Marvel, Sony, or Fox. So, don’t take what I’m about to say as me hating on DC. I love DC and Marvel.

man-of-steel-101-1200x675
Image courtesy Warner Bros.
The DCEU started with Man of Steel, which was a great standalone comic book movie, in my opinion. Then a year later they decide to create an entire comic book universe around this movie, which isn’t a bad idea. It can be done. But it was the way that the 5 year slate was done. If you don’t know it, then here’s a link. They decided to make Batman v Superman before a solo Batman film. Or Wonder Woman. And then they decide to make Justice League before solo Flash, Aquaman, and Cyborg. That can be done, but it just isn’t the best direction to go. The reason The Avengers worked so well was because we had seen these characters in separate movies, and we finally were seeing them team up for the first time. It was powerful to see these characters team up and it was so awesome.

The reason I’m starting to lose faith in the DCEU is because Warner Bros. keeps making these rash decisions. It shows that they have no plan and they don’t know what they’re doing. The Flash movie has gone through three different directors, and it’s going through a complete rewrite right now. They keep making impulse decisions like David Ayer directing a Gotham City Sirens movie, Shazam being split into two movies,and  Justice League being pushed to make room for Batman.

I might be OK with this if they had a great track record so far, but they don’t. If Marvel were to make a decision like one of these, within reason, I wouldn’t be as scared. Because, Marvel makes one slate, and they stick with that and don’t adjust as they go along. They could announce a solo Black Widow movie, but they haven’t because they have a plan, and they are confident with it. Also, we trust them because they simply make really good movies. Out of the 14 movies so far, in my opinion, only 2 have been bad. Again, I don’t think that one studio is better than the other, one just makes better movies.

batman-v-superman-trinity
Image courtesy Warner Bros.
In the end, I just think that since DC’s last two movies haven’t been that good, and they keep making these impulse decisions. It seems like they don’t know what they’re doing and they don’t have a plan. Justice League is my last hope for the DCEU. If that and Wonder Woman don’t work out, then I’m done. I know it seems like I’m super negative towards the DCEU, but I’m actually hopeful for it. All I want is to be able to go to the theater and watch a great movie based on great characters. I really hope I’m wrong about this.

What do you think about the direction of the DCEU? Are you concerned, or are you still on board? Leave your thoughts in the comments below.

 

1 thought on “Why The DCEU Might Be In Trouble”

Leave a Reply

