Antoine Fuqua Leaves Scarface Remake

Antoine Fuqua has directed a movie every year since 2013. Apparently his schedule got too crowded for the upcoming Scarface remake.

The second remake of the 1932 film, Scarface, has Terence Winter writing, who wrote The Wolf of Wall Street. It would take place in Los Angles and star Diego Luna (Rogue One: A Star Wars Story) as a Mexican immigrant.

Variety has reported that Antoine Fuqua can’t film Scarface in the Spring because of him directing a sequel to The Equalizer. This now means that Universal is looking for a director to take on the Scarface remake.

I’ll be honest. I haven’t seen any of the Scarface movies or The Equalizer, but they are on my watch list. But, I have seen The Magnificent Seven and Training Day, so that’s my knowledge on Antoine Fuqua. I do really like both of those movies. The remake seems to be going in a good direction, they have a great writer and Diego Luna was one of the best performances in Rogue One, in my opinion. Also, based on his work on The Magnificent Seven Fuqua is really good at making a fun action movie, which is what I’ve heard The Equalizer is. So, this news doesn’t really affect me and I will be getting around to seeing those two movies.

Leave your thoughts in the comments below. I would like to hear the thoughts of someone who knows more about this than me.

Leave a Reply

