Official: Ben Affleck Will No Longer Direct The Solo Batman Film

Ben Affleck will no longer direct the solo Batman film.

An exclusive report from Variety has confirmed that Ben Affleck has stepped down as director of the solo Batman film. But he will remain the star and producer of the film. He released the following statement.

“There are certain characters who hold a special place in the hearts of millions. Performing this role demands focus, passion and the very best performance I can give. It has become clear that I cannot do both jobs to the level they require. Together with the studio, I have decided to find a partner in a director who will collaborate with me on this massive film. I am still in this, and we are making it, but we are currently looking for a director. I remain extremely committed to this project, and look forward to bringing this to life for fans around the world.”

Warner Bros. has said that they “fully support Affleck’s decision and remain committed to bringing a standalone Batman picture to light.”

Image result for ben affleck batman

Personally, I am a little disappointed. Ben Affleck was my only true hope for the DCEU. I enjoyed Batman v. Superman for what it was and Ben Affleck was great in it, but that film clearly had some problems. And the first time I saw Suicide Squad I liked it, but when I bought the blu-ray I realized that it had a lot of problems. I was really looking forward to Affleck’s take on The Batman because he is my favorite comic book character.

Now, Affleck has had some previous statements about not doing it if it doesn’t turn out right. In his statement he says that he’s dropping because “he cannot do both jobs to the level they require”. This means either two things. 1. He just can’t handle the pressure of directing a movie of this scale. Which is totally understandable since he usually directs smaller projects. Or 2. He didn’t agree with the studio. Which is what scares me.

The only thing in his statement that hints at this is when he says “To the level they require”. But, based on the DCEU’s track record so far, if the studio doesn’t agree with Ben Affleck, who is a great director, there is a problem. All I want is a great Batman movie. Christopher Nolan revitalized the character from the bat-nips, Joel Schumacher era. I understand that’s a tough act to follow, but it’s the fact that we had a great director/writer, Ben Affleck, and he is no longer doing it.

I do still have some hope for Wonder Woman. It looks really good, but then again Batman v Superman was, in my opinion, the best trailer of 2015. But, I’m still very optimistic. Also, we could still get a great director and writer to take over. I haven’t lost all faith in the project, but this just worries me that we might not get a great Batman film.

I’ll leave it on a positive note. Ben Affleck was, hands down, the best part of Batman v Superman. He will still star in and produce the film, which I hope means that he still thinks that it’s going in a good direction. We will have to wait for a new director announcement, and then that will decide how I feel about this news.

What do you think about this news? Put your thoughts in the comments below. I’ll be reading them.

Ben Affleck will star in Justice League releasing on November 17, 2017.

5 thoughts on “Official: Ben Affleck Will No Longer Direct The Solo Batman Film”

Leave a Reply

